Implemented in 4.4
Official Documentation Available
This topic is now covered in Deleting pages.
Describes how deletion and de-activation can be un-coupled, respectively backed with a workflow.
Note that our current UI framework restricts us in how much we can change the menu structure, labels and layout of the context menu shown when clicking with the right mouse button. In particular, we can gray out items with some trickery, but we can't add, change or delete entries. This limits what we can do with the 4.x family of Magnolia.
The only change for a work item is that we actually use an icon, which reflects both the type of the node being activated as well as whether it was marked as "deleted" or not.
- Clicking on "Mark page for deletion" marks the page and all its sub pages as "deleted".
- If a page marked as "deleted" is activated:
- a new work item is added to the workflow, if configured.
- if no workflow is configured, the page that is activated including all of its sub pages are deleted during the activation.
- To restore a page marked as "deleted", choose "Versions", then restore the previous page.
- Activation is always required to physically delete a page marked as "deleted".
- No alert boxes are needed anymore.
- If a page marked as "deleted" contains a sub page, which has not been marked as deleted (e.g. a page, which got restored), this page will get deleted anyway on activation of any of its deleted parent pages.
- If you move a page from outside a tree of deleted page into such tree, the move will fail with an alert notifying you that you can't move a page to page intended to be deleted.
- You could manually deleted the sub pages of a deleted parent page by manually activating each one of them. If you insisted and intend to work harder than you have to, that is, since deleting the parent node would be the way to go.